Tour of Honour Limestone Coast – 18 to 20 May 2022

May 20, 2022

Published: May 19, 2022

The communities of Naracoorte and Mount Gambier embraced this profound opportunity to hear from five inspirational Australians during our Tour of Honour from 18 to 20 May –

Bernie Shakeshaft, Australia’s Local Hero 2020 – Founder of youth mentoring program BackTrack Youth Works

Professor Helen Marshall AM, SA Australian of the Year 2022 – Vaccination Researcher

Mark Le Messurier, SA Senior Australian of the Year 2022 – Educator, counsellor & author

Dr Trudy Lin, SA Young Australian of the Year 2022 – Special needs dentistry consultant

Monique Bareham, SA Local Hero of The Year 2022 – Lymphoedema advocate and leader

We had wide reaching and diverse representation in each Local Government area, including primary and secondary school students, Members of Parliament, Elected Members and staff of Local Councils, Citizen of the Year recipients, business leaders and community groups. The Tour of Honour was an unique opportunity for our Australian of the Year Award recipients to connect with young people and explore important topics of mental health and wellbeing, self-worth and identity, advocacy and social justice and how we can all be agents of change.

We could not have held the Tour of Honour without the generous support from our presenting partner – MGA Insurance and supporting partners Barry Maney GroupEssity Medical Solutions and Tenison Woods CollegeUniversity of South Australia Mount Gambier Campus, accommodation partner The Commodore and media partner ABC Southeast SA.

The Australians of the Year also had the honour of visiting MGA Insurance Group Naracoorte office and spent the afternoon with MGA’s incredible team and special longstanding clients.

With special thanks to Substance Misuse Limestone Coast and Mount Gambier Breast Cancer Awareness Group for enabling rich and impactful conversations addressing issues that impact us all.

The Tour of Honour amplified the Australian of the Year Awards Program and to encouraged future nominations from the regions.

With special thanks to our regional Councils – Naracoorte Lucindale CouncilDistrict Council of Grant and the City of Mount Gambier.

We also thank our strategic funding partners the SA Government, National Australia Day Council and the City of Adelaide. Without these partnerships our awards and events would not be possible.