Ingrid Kennerley

Ingrid Kennerley

Mental Health Advocate & 2019 South Australia Citizen of the Year

Ingrid is the kind of no-fuss, steadfast, community-minded person who helps to make our towns and districts such great places to live.  Ingrid’s peers note that she is a true community leader: she leads by example with her strong community values, dedication through volunteering, and her personal inspirational manner and attitude.

After her husband’s suicide, Ingrid displayed incredible strength and resilience, guiding her children through the tragedy, and maintaining her volunteering and support roles that are so vital to small communities. In particular, she served the Cummins and Districts War Memorial Swimming Pool as Committee Member / Treasurer (still ongoing after 14 years), the Rambler Netball Club as Committee Member and various other positions, and the RNC Canteen Committee Representative as Treasurer.

It is said that everyone in the District Council of Lower Eyre Peninsula knows Ingrid and has had some connection with her through her various events or clubs and her reputation is widely recognised by its dedication, resilience, strength, and enduring commitment.

Meet our Ambassadors

Nasir Hussain

Diversity Advocate & President of Muslim Australian Connections of South Australia

Since migrating to Australia in 2006, Nasir has devoted himself to building bridges between Muslims and the wider Australian society.

Dr Felicity-ann Lewis

Community Leader & 2014 SA Australian of the Year

A dedicated, dynamic leader, Dr Felicity-ann Lewis is passionate about creating a better, healthier, more inclusive Australia

Chris Schacht

Former Senator & President of Volleyball Australia

Chris is a former President of the Australian Volleyball Federation and an elected representative to the Legal Commission of the “Federation Internationale de Volleyball”. He is also a board member of numerous worthwhile organisations.

Pat Rix

South Australian Local Hero, 2007

A respected artistic director with significant experience creating collaborative community and mainstage productions in South Australia, the United States and Southeast Asia.
Professor Jennifer McKay AM

Professor Jennifer McKay AM

Professor - Business, Law and Environment

Professor Jennifer McKay AM is an academic lawyer with a passion for research to celebrate some but reform other laws to achieve a sound and clean environment for future generations.
Christine Robertson

Christine Robertson OAM

Co-founder of Lost Pets of South Australia, Creator of Chipblitz program & SA State Recipient Local Hero 2023

Christine co-founded the Lost Pets of South Australia charity in 2013 to reunite lost pets with their families. The volunteer organisation uses social media and its connections with the RSPCA and other animal welfare groups to get lost animals back home.