My Cart



Citizen of the Year Awards

Who makes a real difference in your community?

The Citizen of the Year Awards are proudly presented by the Australia Day Council of South Australia, Local Government Association of South Australia, Sarah Constructions, On the Run, MGA Insurance and are administered by local Councils across South Australia.

The purpose is to recognise those people in the local community that are making outstanding contributions. On Australia Day every year every local council will name their Citizen of the Year for their local community and at a special ceremony on the Grounds of Government House a State winner will be named in each category. 

For more information, or to nominate please go to our website

Nominate - the Australia Day Citizen of the Year Awards


State Recipients: South Australia's Citizen of the Year Awards 2020

The South Australian Citizen of the Year 2020

Allan Mayfield (Clare and Gilbert Valleys Council)

 It has been said that very few people within the Clare Valley have not benefited in some way from the work achieved by Allan Mayfield.

An agronomist by trade, demonstrating strong leadership with a practical and conciliatory approach towards problem solving, Allan has also devoted himself to numerous community events and committees.
Allan has increased the profile of Clare, not only in SA, but also nationally and internationally.  From securing funding from Federal and State Governments to extend The Riesling Trail, contributing to the community through Lions, to liaising with local governments and discussing issues with landowners, Allan has established himself within the community as a committed individual working to improve the lives of the people of Clare and Gilbert Valleys Council.


The South Australian Young Citizen of the Year 2020

Caitlin McMahon (City of Mount Gambier) 

2019 Order of Australia Association, South Australian Branch, Student Citizenship award recipient Caitlin McMahon has an extensive resume showcasing her natural leadership in several spheres within her community and her quality contribution towards humanity across several community organisations.

As an active member within her community, the City of Mount Gambier, Caitlin has also demonstrated considerable contributions towards her schooling, sporting and work commitments.  As a highly motivated and passionate individual, Caitlin demonstrates a clear consciousness for the importance of hard work, organisation and selflessness.


Commendation for the South Australian Young Citizen of the Year 2020

Ebony Brackston (Alexandrina Council) 

Ebony is a valued and passionate member and volunteer of both the Southern Youth Advisory Committee and the Strathalbyn Community Youth.
She has been heavily involved in the planning and implementation of regional events targeted at the youth of the region, giving her time towards the creation of opportunities for the youth within her community.
Ebony has represented the Alexandrina Council and the region at the United Nations Youth Conference in Adelaide for the last three years, and the region at the 2019 State Governments Youth Suicide Prevention Strategy Summit.  Also, in 2019, Ebony was awarded The Fleurieu Women’s Youth Ambassador Award this year for her valuable contribution to the region.


The South Australian Community Event of the Year 2020

Regional Council of Goyder

Day in the Dust (Regional Council of Goyder)

In recognition of the resilient Goyder community, the Eastern Drought Community Action Group held the drought relief concert on the Robertstown oval.  Headlining the event was the South Australian Army Band, with local Goyder support acts. With over 400 attendees, this event not only brought together a community for an evening of food and entertainment, but to give the local community something to look forward to, access to drought support services, to raise awareness to us of what our neighbouring communities, friends and family are going through, and more importantly an opportunity to put aside the daily stresses that come with drought.

Stay up to date

Sign up to our mailing list