My Cart


Australia Day Ambassadors

The Australia Day Ambassador Program is the cornerstone of local Australia Day celebrations. Each year over 300 Ambassadors generously volunteer their time and energy to visit regional and metropolitan areas across the nation to inspire and unite communities.

Our Ambassadors are high profile, influential and deeply respected community leaders within South Australia. These individuals embrace communities, share insights from their varied lived experiences, reflect on who we are as nation and celebrate our diversity.

The benefits of having an Australia Day Ambassador at Australia Day celebrations include -

  • The opportunity for local community to meet and listen to Australians who have distinguished themselves by their contribution to their country
  • They are a drawcard for regional celebrations
  • The chance to hear stories of the Ambassador's achievements which illustrate the many opportunities Australia offers
  • The opportunity to reinforce the diversity of achievers in Australia.


    Meet our Ambassadors below - click on their image to learn more


    Professor Mohamad Abdalla

    Edgar Agius OAM

    Michael Angelakis AM JP



    Wayne Anthoney OAM

    Hon Rev Dr Lynn Arnold AO FAICD

    Maggie Beer AM



    Taryn Brumfitt

    Professor Don Bursill AM

    Julian Burton OAM



    John (Jack) Cahill

    Danielle Catanzariti

    Shazia Choudhry



    Ralph Clarke

    Francene Connor

    Ivan Copley OAM



    Dr Victoria Cox MBBS

    Legh Davis

    William Denny AM BM



    Anthony Fioravanti

    Cate Fowler AM

    Mem Fox AM



    Peter Goers OAM

    Dr Bill Griggs AM ASM

    John Halbert AM MBE



    Samela Harris

    Phil Herreen 

    Lynn Hill



    Dr Deane Hutton

    Dr Robert Irving

    Malcolm Jackman



    Michael Keelan

    Daniel Kirk

    Michele Lally



    Professor Peter Langridge

    Barry Lewis

    Bruce Macky



    Vikram Madan OAM VSM

    David Malinda

    Bruce Mellett OAM



    Professor Rob Morrison OAM

    Richard Neagle

    Rima Niemz



    Michael O'Connell AM APM

    Vanessa Picker

    Pat Rix



    Major (Ret'd) Paul Rosenzweig

    Chris Schacht

    John Shepherd AM



    Darrell Tree CV

    Heidi Van Gerwen

    Katrina Webb OAM



    Vicky Welgraven

    Carole Whitelock

    Jenny Williams

Stay up to date

Sign up to our mailing list